​​Achieving Food Hygiene Rating Level 5

​Achieving Food Hygiene Rating Level 5In December 2008 the Food Standards Agency agreed a National Food Hygiene Rating Scheme. It is now running in all areas of Wales, Northern Ireland and in 99% of England.

In practice the rating scheme is designed to ensure that businesses that are broadly compliant with food law and are managing food safety risks will receive a rating of three ... and those who are managing the risk well will receive a rating of four or five. However, significant lapses in any of the scoring criteria can also have a significant effect on the rating.

Duration: 1 hour

CPD Units: 2

Format: Video

Price:  £25 + VAT

Who Should Take This Course?

​​This course is intended to give you an overview of how the National Food Hygiene Rating Scheme works, what the scoring criteria are and how these are assessed by the inspectors, the appeals process, the Safer Food Better Business management system, E-Coli and concludes with some practical advice for ensuring your premises gets the best score possible.

​It is suitable for all employees of food premises in England, Wales and Northern Ireland - including catering, retail and manufacturing premises - who are looking to improve their food hygiene rating.

There are no prerequisites to the course, although it is recommended you have existing knowledge of food safety and hygiene procedures. 


On successful completion of the course you will be sent a quality assured certificate through the post the next working day. This can be used to provide evidence for compliance and audit.

All of our courses are accredited by the CPD Certification Service as conforming to universally accepted Continuous Professional Development (CPD) guidelines.

​This certificate does not have an expiry date. However, based on industry best practice guidelines, the recommended renewal period for this training is 3 years. We will print this recommended renewal date on your certificate.

Screenshots (click to view)

Course Content


​1. ​Food Hygiene Ratings –An Introduction

​2. ​Scoring Criteria

​3. ​Appeals

​4. ​Safer Food Better Business (SFBB)

​5. E.Coli

​6. Good Hygiene Structure and Cleaning

Aims of the Course

By the end of this course, learners will:

  • Understand the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme scoring system.
  • Know how to achieve the highest level of 5 in the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme.
  • Understand some of the common mistakes that food businesses make that can cause them to receive a low rating.
  • Recognise how to improve their food premises so that the highest rating can be achieved and maintained.


The online assessment is taken on completion of the training material. You will be asked a set of​ multiple choice questions with a pass mark of 70%. ​You will have up to six attempts for passing the assessment. 

​Ready to Order?  Start Learning Today!